DISABILITY

normal_Retirement_23[1]

HANDICAPPED SHORT-CUTS TO REMAIN AUTONOMOUS!

It has become increasingly more difficult for me to lift or remove larger, heaver containers of food from the refrigerator or elsewhere.  My solution was small plastic bags, such as sandwich or snack bags for small portions of food.  I have an aide that comes a few hours a day.  One of his jobs is to downsize portions of food, so they can be easily removed from the refrigerator.  I can’t stand, so my rollator is placed by the frig.  I can open the door & easily remove my portion of food, such as a sandwich or bag of fresh fruit.  I recycled small old water bottles for tea, orange juice, etc.  I plan to do the same with dinner meals.  Into a qt. freezer bag, I will put a steak, hamburger, or breast of chicken, etc. with a portion of frozen vegetables & any starch that can be frozen.  This enables me to be self sufficient at dinnertime, if I am by myself.  There isn’t the dance of upsetting the freezer to find some thing on bottom, which can’t be accomplished by me.  Therefore, just pull bag out of the freezer & voila dinner is already to prepare!  Try to make simple meals that can be combined, when help is available.  I like to prepare chicken stock with the works for

Casserole, pie, dumplings or just plain soup.  I do this often, then I have homemade food ready to just microwave or heat up.  Or a crockpot of pork & sauerkraut!  Mashed potatoes can be thrown in bags & portions frozen.  Try to think ahead!  The more you can do yourself, the less sodium, fat, calories, you get from processed food.  I know!  It seems easier to depend on a frozen dinner!  But at our age the amount of sodium in them can kill us!  SO GET COOKING!

One Response

  1. […] Filed under: Changes, Uncategorized | Tagged: DISABILITY, HANDICAPPED SHORT-CUTS, SURVING ON YOUR OWN | Leave a Comment » […]

Leave a Reply

